What am I doing wrong?

nogak

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
58
Gender
Female
Hello,

I have only been on mturk for 2 weeks. I have done several task and I haven't seen any results. My dashboard is at all 0's. My status says I haven't submitted any HITs. I finished the task in the alotted time and the screen will go blank, with only the "return" box in the corner of the screen. I don't click on the "return" button because I've heard that is a bad thing to do. I've done surveys and submitted my worker ID number and nothing.

I've have read the first 1000 clicks and how to start with mturk post, but I'm still a confused newbie :)

Thanks for any advise.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kryss

kryss

carburante al fuoco
Former Admin
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
20,906
Reaction score
61,558
Points
1,488
Hello,

I have only been on mturk for 2 weeks. I have done several task and I haven't seen any results. My dashboard is at all 0's. My status says I haven't submitted any HITs. I finished the task in the alotted time and the screen will go blank, with only the "return" box in the corner of the screen. I don't click on the "return" button because I've heard that is a bad thing to do. I've done surveys and submitted my worker ID number and nothing.

I've have read the first 1000 clicks and how to start with mturk post, but I'm still a confused newbie :)

Thanks for any advise.
Are you saying that your dashboard is showing that you haven't submitted any HITs at all?
 

nogak

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
58
Gender
Female
yes, submitted 0
approved 0
rejected 0
pending 0
 

minkyboodle

"And there you have it"
Contributor
Crowd Pleaser
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
2,577
Reaction score
8,192
Points
1,038
Location
The Land of Tigernados
Are you running any scripts at all?

Edit: If so, try turning them all off and then refresh your dashboard. If it looks normal again and shows your hits completed like it should, try turning scripts on one at a time to figure out which one may be the issue.

Otherwise, I'm not sure what might be the problem.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: kryss

Kat8mouse

Kat Master
Contributor
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
3,176
Reaction score
7,301
Points
838
Location
Virginia
Gender
Female
If you are using chrome, maybe switch to another browser and see if that changes anything. Make sure you are using the latest version of the browser.
 

kryss

carburante al fuoco
Former Admin
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
20,906
Reaction score
61,558
Points
1,488
Hello,

I have only been on mturk for 2 weeks. I have done several task and I haven't seen any results. My dashboard is at all 0's. My status says I haven't submitted any HITs. I finished the task in the alotted time and the screen will go blank, with only the "return" box in the corner of the screen. I don't click on the "return" button because I've heard that is a bad thing to do. I've done surveys and submitted my worker ID number and nothing.

I've have read the first 1000 clicks and how to start with mturk post, but I'm still a confused newbie :)

Thanks for any advise.
Have you set up an amazon payments account? As in you have access to the site and are able to preview hits but it doesn't let you accept them, only preview?
 

nogak

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
58
Gender
Female
Have you set up an amazon payments account? As in you have access to the site and are able to preview hits but it doesn't let you accept them, only preview?
Yes I have a direct deposit acct. set up for payments. I will preview and accept the hits, go all the way through the task and when I submit it, the page goes blank except for the return button on the bottom of the page, which I don't click. Then I go to the top and click the Amazon Turk logo and go back to the hits I'm qual for. I do have Turkopticon, but that is it. Should I delete it and start over in Firefox?
 
  • Like
Reactions: kryss

kryss

carburante al fuoco
Former Admin
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
20,906
Reaction score
61,558
Points
1,488
Yes I have a direct deposit acct. set up for payments. I will preview and accept the hits, go all the way through the task and when I submit it, the page goes blank except for the return button on the bottom of the page, which I don't click. Then I go to the top and click the Amazon Turk logo and go back to the hits I'm qual for. I do have Turkopticon, but that is it. Should I delete it and start over in Firefox?
I'm really not sure switching to FF would do, you can try? You might want try emailing amazon? When you submit hit, make sure you that hit still isn't in your queue.
 

Jaded

The real themildone
Administrator
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
46,355
Reaction score
123,042
Points
1,414
Age
120
Gender
Female
Yes I have a direct deposit acct. set up for payments. I will preview and accept the hits, go all the way through the task and when I submit it, the page goes blank except for the return button on the bottom of the page, which I don't click. Then I go to the top and click the Amazon Turk logo and go back to the hits I'm qual for. I do have Turkopticon, but that is it. Should I delete it and start over in Firefox?
It sounds like a script or something is messing up your hit and when it goes blank it's not submitting, so when you go to another page it's just expiring in your queue.

Is this all requesters or just one?

Did you try different browsers or to turn all your scripts off?
 
  • Like
Reactions: kryss

nogak

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
58
Gender
Female
It sounds like a script or something is messing up your hit and when it goes blank it's not submitting, so when you go to another page it's just expiring in your queue.

Is this all requesters or just one?

Did you try different browsers or to turn all your scripts off?
It happens with every requester. I'm afraid I'm going to get booted from mturk if this keeps happening. I deleted Turkopticon and open mturk in Explorer and the same thing is going on. How can I see my approval rating?
 
  • Like
Reactions: kryss

kryss

carburante al fuoco
Former Admin
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
20,906
Reaction score
61,558
Points
1,488
It happens with every requester. I'm afraid I'm going to get booted from mturk if this keeps happening. I deleted Turkopticon and open mturk in Explorer and the same thing is going on. How can I see my approval rating?
Could you possibly take some screen shows of your Dashboard and your Mturk search page, make sure you omit your name though.
 

nogak

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
58
Gender
Female
Could you possibly take some screen shows of your Dashboard and your Mturk search page, make sure you omit your name though.
How do I find the Mtruk search page?
 

nogak

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
58
Gender
Female
  • Like
Reactions: kryss

kryss

carburante al fuoco
Former Admin
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
20,906
Reaction score
61,558
Points
1,488
I guess deleting turkopticon and opening it up in Explorer must have done something, cuz I'm finally seeing what I've done today on my dashboard. I opened it in Chrome in I can see everything fine. What other scripts do you suggest I download? Thanks to everyone for their wonderful advice!!
It would probably be good to start with mturk suite and go from there on an as needed basis. Check out the daily thread, there's a lot of helpful members that are active there all day.