Welcome to MTurk Crowd

Work on Amazon Mechanical Turk, learn from the best, and have fun doing it. Join the crowd today!

Sign Up

Panda Crazy Script for Panda's

Discussion in 'Userscripts, Extensions, and Software' started by Johnnyrs, Jun 11, 2016.

  1. Caturk

    Caturk
    Expand Collapse
    Pizza Cat

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes:
    644
    It's brilliant, and this is only my first day.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  2. Caturk

    Caturk
    Expand Collapse
    Pizza Cat

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes:
    644
    I've been using it few days, and I can't find these in your Help section:
    1--On the " back" of each job is written The Number. What does that mean?

    2--Why is the reward amount on the jobs almost always blank? I would like a reminder of each hit's value. Can I fill it in when it's missing?

    3-- What would be the best procedure for a single large-paying hit? GOHAM blue?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    #262 Caturk, Dec 20, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
  3. Caturk

    Caturk
    Expand Collapse
    Pizza Cat

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes:
    644
    I have a few solutons for problems that have been already posted here:

    1--dropping a box into another tab--the boxes are translucent. Hold the box over the tab till you see the tab turning brown underneath. MOST of the time it turns brown. Drop.
    2--Alphabetizing--in my most-populated tab I alphabetize so I know if I've already boxed Requ X. I hold Box X exactly over the box that would be next alphabetically, with the outlines overlaying, and drop it into place.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. Caturk

    Caturk
    Expand Collapse
    Pizza Cat

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes:
    644
    I'm doing something wrong. I have only 10 pandas running, as you advised. Between PC, Scraper and Hit Notifier, I made about $6 yesterday and 91c today. I just switched to 10 other hits. I have it on #2 timer because I'm running Scraper.

    If a hit has been searched for over 800 or 900 times, can I assume it's not out there any more?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    #264 Caturk, Dec 20, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
  5. Johnnyrs

    Johnnyrs
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    • Contributor
    • Crowd Pleaser
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Likes:
    1,122
    1) Don't worry about The Number. It's the way the script numbers the jobs for it's own purpose.
    2) If you add the job from the add job button then the script won't know the pay amount until it finds a hit. If you added it from the mturk site then it usually will have the pay amount.
    3) If a job has a large batch then Delayed GoHam (GoHam Blue) would be the best probably.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Johnnyrs

    Johnnyrs
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    • Contributor
    • Crowd Pleaser
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Likes:
    1,122
    You just have to find the daily batches to make more money. Survey hits are usually just one time hits that go fast so if you don't get it in a few minutes move on to something else. If it's a large paying survey you can keep it running for a few hours. I find batches are better to keep running.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    jnalleyne likes this.
  7. Caturk

    Caturk
    Expand Collapse
    Pizza Cat

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes:
    644
    OK, will reconfigure. I didn't know surveys go that fast. I have read your entire documentation and this entire thread, so bear with me. There are some things I don't understand.

    About batches. I can be doing, as an example, Research Tasks, and last night there were 18,000 of them. Why does PC cut me off after 5 or 10? These are not capped that low, maybe not at all, because the day before I did 60 or 70 . Then when I search on MT itself, there are plenty still there. Is GOHAM blue the solution to this? And could you tell me the advantage of GOHAM blue over green?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    #267 Caturk, Dec 23, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2016
  8. Caturk

    Caturk
    Expand Collapse
    Pizza Cat

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes:
    644
    Suggestion for the next revision: put the current date on the survey hits, so we can judge when it's safe to toss them.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    #268 Caturk, Dec 23, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2016
  9. Caturk

    Caturk
    Expand Collapse
    Pizza Cat

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes:
    644
    @Johnnyrs@Johnnyrs-- a few questions

    1--I'm tring to figure out when to STOP searching for a hit and discard the panda.
    If PC has searched maybe 1000 or 3000 for Hit X, let's say on one day, and nothing comes up, would you say Hit X is gone?

    2--I've read about Reset Timer, but I don't understand it

    3--How does PC "know" when I'm not qualified for Hit X? Does it actally rake through my earned quals?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    #269 Caturk, Dec 28, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2016
  10. TylerS

    TylerS
    Expand Collapse
    I'm not a very good turker

    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes:
    358
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Anyone know why a HIT would go black and not allow collection? I can collect/ham other HITs just not this one.
     
  11. Jaded

    Jaded
    Expand Collapse
    I have no idea what I'm doing

    • Administrator
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    19,674
    Likes:
    38,743
    Black = Block IIRC
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    TylerS likes this.
  12. TylerS

    TylerS
    Expand Collapse
    I'm not a very good turker

    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes:
    358
    Damnit, I was hoping that wasn't the case. He approved like 30, rejected one (even though I check to make sure there is enough data) so that sucks. I'll email him and see if I can get an unblock.
     
    Roscoe E Goldchain likes this.
  13. Johnnyrs

    Johnnyrs
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    • Contributor
    • Crowd Pleaser
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Likes:
    1,122
    The only reason PC will cut you off is if you tell it to limit by using the queue hit limit or queue # limit. Leaving it at 0 will not limit anything and usually should be left alone. Some hits are throttled by mturk so it won't allow you to grab the hits all the time. Changing the action mode to pantha may help in these cases but no guarantees because things have changed on mturk. Some hits are limited to an amount per each person so that can also be the problem. If the job turns red then PC is limiting it so you need to change it.

    Goham is used to grab as many hits possible when a hit is dropped by going faster than the usual time that would set off a PRE error. But when the script receives a PRE it will slow down so leaving it on GoHam for too long will just have it go back to the original timer and probably will make it go a lot slower. The GoHam Blue will only goham when it finds a hit and will go back to normal after about 15 seconds. This will allow it to go back and forth between normal timer and fast timer to grab as many as possible. This could help in grabbing hits but still no guarantee when mturk is limiting with throttling.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. Johnnyrs

    Johnnyrs
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    • Contributor
    • Crowd Pleaser
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Likes:
    1,122
    This is mostly a personal decision you need to make. I can give you tips but it's all about what works best for you. I like batches more so surveys only stay collecting for a few minutes. If I only do surveys then those would be on a lot longer. A good tip is if a survey is only for 20 cents then it probably isn't worth leaving it on for hours. There usually are other surveys dropping so try to grab them. The requesters have a set amount of surveys for people to do so leaving on a survey panda is only to grab the ones who get returned. Usually that means leaving a survey collect on for the amount of time that the survey is set for is enough. Usually an hour is enough. Some surveys will get sent out again and you just have to find it by watching the forums or using another script that announces the survey dropped again.

    Leaving a 20 cent survey on when there are 1 dollar or 5 dollar surveys out there would be silly. The higher paying surveys are so much better and a lot more likely to be returned or sent back out. So rely on the time the panda is running rather than the times it checked because the number of checks is dependent on the timer you are using and the amount of jobs you are checking.

    The script is normally set at 980ms for the main timer. When it receives a PRE it will add more time so it slows down and causes less PRE's. This is designed so you can work from your queue and not be bothered by PRE's but the script can still grab hits in the background. Watch the elapsed timer. If it's over 1000ms and you are not working from queue or have other scripts running then reset timer will set the timer to the normal 980ms or whatver you have it set at. It's important to have it go as fast as possible so it grabs the hits fast. Be sure you have the script running in a window by itself. It will slow down if it's in a tab. I have found good results when I use the stop auto slowdown in the options menu so I don't have to remember to reset the timer. It will never slowdown when it finds PRE's. You need to play with it and find the right set up for you.

    When PC sends a panda request it will get a page from mturk that will tell it if it accepted a hit, found nothing, you are not quallified or blocked. The script will use that information to tell you what happens. Doesn't need to look at all your quals.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. Caturk

    Caturk
    Expand Collapse
    Pizza Cat

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes:
    644
    1--Yes, it's running in its own window. I just applied "stop auto slowdown."

    2--"Leaving a 20 cent survey on when there are 1 dollar or 5 dollar surveys out there would be silly."
    Not guilty of that.


    3--"Watch the elapsed timer."
    Where is this?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    #275 Caturk, Dec 30, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2016
  16. Johnnyrs

    Johnnyrs
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    • Contributor
    • Crowd Pleaser
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Likes:
    1,122
    It's at the top in the status bar. The elapsed timer is after the Elapsed: text. That's how many ms it takes to try the next panda so the lower this is the better unless it goes under 970ms which will cause more PRE's. Usually it should stay around 1000ms which is 1 second. In goHam mode it will drop under to go as fast as possible. If running other scripts you can try timers number 2 or 3 at the top.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. Caturk

    Caturk
    Expand Collapse
    Pizza Cat

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes:
    644
    "5 jobs on[Elapsed 2112 ms Cycling, etc]" ?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    #277 Caturk, Dec 30, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2016
  18. Nihility42

    Nihility42
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes:
    61
    So, I've ran into an interesting issue with PC. I've been using it for awhile and it's worked great, but for some reason my exports started doubling in size every time I exported. Any idea what could be causing this?

    [​IMG]
     
  19. NirvanaFan

    NirvanaFan
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes:
    68
    I'm not sure if this has been suggested, but is there any way to add user created notes to each job? For example, I added a couple jobs that I found that I'm not currently qualified for (1k approved). I should have the qualification in the next few days, but it would be nice if I could add a note to them to remind me of various things (like average length of time the HIT takes to complete).
     
  20. Nihility42

    Nihility42
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes:
    61
    You can change the "friendly title" to display whatever you want. I normally title mine as $reward - Title - Time Until Expire just so I can keep track of those things when I've got a lot of pandas, but you can do anything.
     
    NirvanaFan and scrmcasey like this.