Fair payment

RozH

Reaction score
I am an academic researcher and will be using MTurk for an experiment survey. The survey requires listening to one 20sec audio and answering 20 short questions about the perception of the listener. What is a fair price to pay for this survey? I have limited funding, but at the same time I don't want to pay people less and take advantage of them.

barny

(╯>.<)╯︵ ┻━┻
Reaction score
I'm not a requester, so it almost feels wrong for me to say or speculate anything, but my guess is that, in terms of data that would be suitably accurate for academic research, you very likely get what you pay for on MTurk. For me personally, I won't consider taking a survey if it's not worth my time, and I therefore look for hits that pay at least $0.10 per minute minimum ($6/hour), and I imagine many others look for rates higher than that. Anything lower than that, and you might find that people who are actually willing to take your survey are rushing through it as quickly as possible in order to maximize profit, and could end up not giving you their best data.

RozH

Reaction score
I'm not a requester, so it almost feels wrong for me to say or speculate anything, but my guess is that, in terms of data that would be suitably accurate for academic research, you very likely get what you pay for on MTurk. For me personally, I won't consider taking a survey if it's not worth my time, and I therefore look for hits that pay at least $0.10 per minute minimum ($6/hour), and I imagine many others look for rates higher than that. Anything lower than that, and you might find that people who are actually willing to take your survey are rushing through it as quickly as possible in order to maximize profit, and could end up not giving you their best data.